8am to 4pm

Monday thru Thursday

County Courthouse

350 E Delaware Ave. #14
Republic, WA  99166

(509) 775-5225 ext. 1111

(509) 775-5218


Download Free Adobe Reader to read PDF files.

get adobe reader

















weed board

Rochelle Osborne, Coordinator

The Weed Board Office will be closed on Fridays. The Weed Board Staff will be utilizing this time to better serve Ferry County citizens. Staff will be conducting noxious weed surveys and site visits,  herbicide applications, and noxious weed control. If you have any questions regarding this posting call the Ferry County Noxious Weed Control Board office at (509) 775-5225 extension 1111.

What is a noxious weed?

Noxious weeds are non-native plants that have been introduced to Washington through human actions. Because of their aggressive growth and lack of natural enemies in the state, these species can be highly destructive, competitive or difficult to control.

Noxious weeds are everybody’s problem. Each year, these plants cost Washington millions of dollars. Noxious weeds result in losses estimated at 24% of Washington’s gross agricultural product.

Does the law require weed control?

Washington’s weed law (RCW 17.10) mandates the control of many weed species.

"Class A weeds"

Control will be required and enforced.

Syrian Bean-caper, Texas Blueweed, Spanish Broom, Buffalobur, Meadow Clary, Denseflower Cordgrass, Salt Meadow Cordgrass, Common Crupina, Wild Four O'Clock, Spurge Flax, Goatsrue, Yellow Devil Hawkweed, Giant Hogweed, Hydrilla, Johnsongrass, Bighead Knapweed, Vochin Knapweed, Kudza, Lawnweed, Garlic Mustard, Silverleaf Nightshade, Clary Sage, Mediterranean Sage, Eggleaf Spurge, Purple Starthistle, Italian Thistle, Milk Thistle, Slenderflower Thistle, Velvetleaf, Dyers Woad.

 "Class B Designate weeds"

Are non-native designate species that are presently limited to portions of the state.

Blackgrass, Blueweed, Scotch Broom, White Bryony, Common Bugloss*, Annual Bugloss, Camelthorn, Wild Carrot, Common Catsear, Wild Chervil, Smooth Cordgrass, Common Cordgrass, Brazilian Elodea, Fanwort, Austrian Fieldcress, Gorse, Mouseear Hawkweed, Orange Hawkweed*, Yellow Hawkweed*, Polar Hawkwed, Queen-devil Hawkweed*, Smooth Hawkweed, Yellow Floating Heart, Hedgeparsley, Policeman's Helmet, Robert Herb, Indigobush, Black Knapweed, Brown Knapweed, Meadow Knapweed, Russian Knapweed*, Spotted Knapweed*, Giant Knotweed, Himalayan Knotweed, Japanese Knotweed, Lepyrodiclis, Garden Loosestrife, Purple Loosestrife, Wand Loosestrife, Yellow Nutsedge, Ragwort*, Saltcedar, Longspine Sandbur*, Rush Skeletonweed*, Perennial Sowthistle, Leafy Spurge*, Myrtle Spurge, Yellow Starthistle*, Swainsonpea, Plumeless Thistle*, Scotch Thistle*, Eurasian Watermilfoil.
Note: Weeds with an * are found in the County.

"Class B Non-Designate weeds"

Control will be required and enforced for: vehicle corridors, buffer strips, and in areas of limited distribution, control is encouraged in areas of large infestations.

Hoary Alyssum, Diffuse Knapweed, Musk Thistle, Oxeye Daisy, Sulfur Cinguefoil, Houndstongue, Kochia, Punctureviene, Dalmation Toadflax.

"Class C weeds"

Are other non-native weeds found in Washington.

Babysbreath, Hoary Cress, Jointed Goatgrass, Common Groundsel, Black Henbane, St. Johnswort, Canadian Thistle, Absinth Wormwood, Common Tansy.

Who administers the weed law?

RCW 17.10 also establishes a program for administering the weed law. Education, coordination, and enforcement activities are carried out by three groups:

Washington State Noxious Weed Control Board

Washington’s weed program is coordinated through the Washington State Noxious Weed Control Board. The State Weed Board’s mission is to serve as responsible stewards of Washington’s land and resources by protecting and preserving it from the degrading impact of exotic, invasive noxious weeds. The state board pursues this mission by:

County Noxious Weed Control Boards

RCW 17.10 allows for the activation of a Weed Board in each county. County weed programs provide many services to the communities they serve, including:

Weed Districts, which established under Washington’s first weed laws, RCW 17.04 and 17.06, still operate in some regions of the state. These districts are responsible for weed control in small areas, typically the size of irrigation districts. Weed Districts have responsibilities and activities similar to county weed boards.

Washington State Department of Agriculture

The Washington State Department of Agriculture also plays a role in the state weed program by:

Who is responsible for weed control?

RCW 17.10 holds landowners, including counties and state land agencies, responsible for controlling weeds on their property. Federally owned lands are subject to the Federal Noxious Weed Act. Since many people are unfamiliar with noxious weeds, the State and County Weed Boards and Weed Districts are available to provide information on identification and control options. Landowners can choose the control method they feel is most appropriate for their property.

How can I battle noxious weed?

Several weapons are available for batting these noxious invaders. Options include:

In many cases, these approaches can be integrated to provide the most effective management strategy.